Our 175 Year Jubilee

On Friday morning on St Patrick’s Day I woke up with so much energy. Only because today was the beginning of our parish and school’s 175th Jubilee celebrations. I was so excited to celebrate these special events. 

Our school went to mass in the morning. I was called by Mrs George to serve for Friday mass. I got ready to serve on Friday. My job was to carry the candles and offer the bowl and towel to Father. I was kind of nervous. After mass Father asked 2 students to dig up the time capsule from 25 years ago. We saw a photo of our school from 25 years ago. Everyone saw their parents in the photo. The box was very heavy and dirty and it had been buried in the front of the church. We went back to school after digging up the time capsule. We got back to class and did anything we wanted to do before morning tea.

Out of nowhere the bell rang for morning tea. We all went outside to eat morning tea. After morning tea the entire school sat under the canopy to play sports for St Patrick’s day. All the teachers prepared for our St Patricks day activities. All the teachers were at each activity. I was in Daniel and Feao’s group. We went down to Mr Bell’s activity first down at the bottom court.


Eventually we finished all the activities. It was a long day and we were all tired so as a reward for doing our best we got ICE BLOCKS. Mine was so cold and delicious

On the second day of our 175 jubilee which was on Saturday, 

I went to mass at 7 am. I went to the back of the church to change into my altar serving gown. I was kind of worried because none of the other altar servers had arrived. But 3 minutes before we had to go in, the other altar servers arrived. After mass we went back down to the school and I saw Angelina, Jazzmin, Grace and Francheska. All the teachers came too. We ran in a three legged race, soccer, played Freeze and then had a sausage sizzle and ice cream. There was face painting as well. I went home with a classmate’s mum.

I had a nap before I had to come back for the 5pm Mass. My job this time was to carry the candles. Afterwards we had to go and practise for our dance tomorrow.  Then there was a buffet dinner that was set up by all the people. We had peas, lamb, chicken, mashed potato and more. For dessert we had cheese cake, strawberry pavlova, flavoured ice cream. We all danced and had so much fun. There were even balloons that we popped that were filled with candies. The music was so loud, my ears nearly went deaf. Only at 2am did the night end and we went home.

The sun rose up so bright on Sunday. Today I was helping with the towel and bowl. It was amazing to see the Tongan community coming down the aisle carrying a little girl on top of the fata. They were dancing and singing. 

After Mass we all went to the hall. My school did and dance and also sang three songs for the parish. After that the Altar Servers danced to a song called Wayno Samoa Siva 2K22. At 2pm our Jubilee celebrations ended. I had so much fun this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *